Stevens, Michael Jefry

Konnex, 2009CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 15.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 2
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Michael Jefry Stevens shares the billing with bassist Steve Rust and drummer Harvey Sorgen. Each of them contributes to the nine original compositions being fresh music. The groove moves from cool bop to free bop to straight up free jazz on “CPAC”. Stevens leads the way on the relaxing mid-tempo bounce of “Fairy Tale”. Other highlights are “Freedom Of Choice”, “Magic Meadow” and the opener “Sentry” with it’s energetic pace. The more we listened, the more we liked it!


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services