Elephant Wrecking Ball

Ropeadope Records, 2014CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 21.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The heart and soul of Elephant Wrecking Ball are the composers: trombonist Scott Flynn, bassist Dan Africano and drummer Neal Evans. They assert their presence in the lower registers from the outset on “Stomp Stomp Stomp”. Mike Keenan adds guitar on the sultry “Five Bucks” and Drew Sayers (sax) jousts with Flynn on “This Is How We Slow Dance” otherwise the trio lead the charge. The final two selections are digital remixes with a heavy techno feel in contrast to their contagious mojo on the first six tunes.


Publicist: Ropeadope