Curtis Brothers

CBM, 2011CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 17.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Curtis Brothers are pianist Zaccai and bassist Luques. They play with a solid ensemble that includes Donald Harrison (sax) on five of the eight compositions, all composed by Zaccai. The pace is fierce and upbeat all the way through. Harrison shines on “The Onge” and trumpeter Brian Lynch is featured on “The Wrath” and “Jazz Conspiracy”. We also enjoyed the sweet brass harmonies on “Mass Manipulation” including a fine bass solo by Luques and the syncopated beats of “Manifest Destiny”. These brothers are here to play!


Publicist: D. L. Media