Jentsch, Chris

Fleur de Son, 2009CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 15.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The NY Council of the Arts commissioned guitarist and composer Chris Jentsch and his 17-piece ensemble for this 75 min session. This music is focused on life cycles. It reminds us of the sounds of nature when camping in the forest. Among the star-studded cast are Mike Kaupa (t), Jason Rigby (reeds) and Alan Ferber (tb). They do an excellent job of reproducing the dreams, chaotic moments, passion, sadness and reflections that are all a part of life. There is a lot of air and dynamics that give the music a sense of life itself at times. It is tough to pigeonhole this music as fusion, rock, classical or free jazz as it encompasses many genres during the course of passage. This indeed a noteworthy session though not easily absorbed by all listeners.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz