Aaltonen, Juhani & Iro Haarla

TUM, 2016CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 22.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Finnish musicians Juhani Aaltonen (sax, fl) and Iro Haarla (p, harp) combine to perform ten compositions written by Haarla. They have performed in a variety of configurations in the past usually in a free jazz setting. They open with an “Evening Prayer” before exploring sounds of nature and touching many moods. The music is adventurous on “Out of the Depths”, ethereal on “Still Waters” and tranquil on “Kirkastus”. These are representative examples of a provocative session that is perhaps their most embraceable yet!


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz