Fujita, Tomo

Tomo Fujita Music, 2010CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 16.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Guitarist Tomo Fujita is in good company with Steve Gadd (d), Will Lee (b), Bernard Purdue (d), Steve Jordan (d), all well-established jazz musicians. He plays in a quartet format (rotating drummers) on each of these nine originals. The groove ranges from neobop/fusion on the opener to honky-tonk blues on “Boy Back Home”. Blues are his main calling card highlighted by “Midnight Walk”, “Tiny Tapper” and “Through The Pain”. We also liked the funky “Crossing” and “The Good Life”. Fujita has a lot to say to the contemporary jazz guitar crowd and we enjoyed listening.


Publicist: Powderfinger Promotions