ECM, 2009CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 15.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 5
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Fly is a cooperative trio consisting of Mark Turner (sax), Jeff Ballard (d) and Larry Greenadier (b). They are a touring trio who has performed together over five years. The music is a quiet, mellow jazz-fusion that is captured well by ECM allowing full appreciation of all of the nuances on tunes like “CJ”. They cook on “Dharma Days” with Turner leading improvised melodies. We liked the groove of “Super Sister”. Cool fusion fans will be in heaven with this one.


Publicist: ECM Records