Freedom Art Quartet

Honi Fern Music, 2010CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 16.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The quartet is Abraham Burton (t sax), Omar Kabir (t, flugelhorn), Jaribu Shahid (b) and Lloyd Haber (d). They take an introspective approach on Spirits Awake exploring their innermost thoughts and expressing them without fear. Haber wrote all of the music. Guest artist Douglas Yates (a sax) joins them for a few tunes starting with “In The thick Of It”, the bouncy opener. “Monking Around” is a fitting tribute to Thelonius. They push into free apace led by Burton in “Love Of Illusion” and stay there for the last two selections. It is never too far gone. Our favorites of the set are “Sweet Tooth” with a New Orleans style marching beat and “Time Share”. The Freedom Art Quartet gave us the unexpected!


Publicist: Art Rock Management