Blake, Dan

bju, 2011CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 17.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Dan Blake (sax) composed The Aquarian Suite, a set of eight free fusion tunes. The theme is based on bebop and the Coleman, free jazz era but cast in today’s light. Jason Palmer plays trumpet with Jorge Roeder on bass and Richie Barshay playing drums and percussion. The pace is blistering on “Mister Who” and relaxed on “The Best of Intentions” as they touch on a wide range of feelings. We liked “How It’s Done” best in a set with many conversations.


Publicist: Red Cat Publicity