Loussier, Jacques

Telarc, 2006CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 13.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Jacques (p) trio includes Benoit de Segonzac (b) and Andre Arpino (d). They tackle the Brandenburgs, six of Bach’s lesser-known instrumental writings. While this trio has played “Concerto No. 5 in D major” on numerous occasions, some of the other pieces were not written for piano, which present a challenge for Loussier. It is a challenge that he conquers with swinging interpretations of these classical pieces. The technical achievement also results in a pleasurable listening experience that both classical and jazz fans will find intriguing. Our favorite was “Concerto No. 2 in F major”.


Publicist: Telarc Jazz