The Process

M.O.D. Technologies, 2014CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 21.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Process is a trio with keyboardist Jon Batiste, Bill Laswell on bass, guitars and electronics and drummer/percussionist Chad Smith. The music is mostly progressive rock-fusion with three reflective interludes “B1-B3” by Batiste. They move to more of a cool, club/urban feel on “Turn On The Light” featuring Killah Priest and Garrison Hawk on the mic. Smith turns on the jets on the racy “Time Falls” that includes guitarist Dominic James before they conclude on a relaxer, “The Drift”. The variety makes this album a winner!


Publicist: Hubtone PR