Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra

Decca, 2010CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 16.4

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The genius behind this large ensemble is Wynton Marsalis. He composed this suite based on a blues structure marrying the music of Spain with jazz. The twelve movements are exquisite, as we’ve come to expect from Marsalis. The lineup is spectacular including Paco de Lucia (g) and Chano Dominguez (p) from Spain, Sean Jones (t), Marcus Printup (t) and Ted Nash (fl, sax). Wynton picks up his trumpet to add a rich melody on “Blood Cry” and a fine solo on “Mendizorrotza Swing”. We enjoyed the swinging percussion on “Buleria El Portation” held together by Chano’s fleeting work on piano. Another high note is on “Deep Blue” featuring bassist Carlos Henriquez. Marsalis has created another gem!


Publicist: Decca Lable Group