Cornelius, Patrick

Whirlwind Recordings, 2016CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 22.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Reedman, composer and arranger Patrick Cornelius assembles a brass-laden octet for While We’re Still Young, a collection of six new originals. There is solid work by guitarist Mike Okazaki, pianist Gerald Clayton and drummer Kendrick Scott anchoring the rhythm section of Patrick’s band. Things come into focus on the heavily syncopated “Jonathan Jo” in contrast with the laid-back sound of “The Invaders”. We also enjoyed “Lines and Squares”. Cornelius does a great job of integrating all of the musicians to paint a rich canvas.


Publicist: Whirlwind