Bloom, Jane Ira

Outline, 2011CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 17.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: This is saxophonist Jane Ira Bloom’s follow-up to Mental Weather, a solid effort in 2008. Dawn Clement (p) and Mark Helias (b) return along with the newly added veteran drummer Bobby Previte to form a quartet. The music is in constant motion with Bloom handling most of the melodies with ample amounts of improvisation. Many of the tunes had intricate characteristics with transitions through different modes. We enjoyed “Freud’s Convertible”, “Life On Cloud 8” and the upbeat “Live Sports”.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services