Falk, Bobby

b falk music, 2023CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 29.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 74
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Drummer Bobby Falk leads a sextet over a dozen originals on Coming To Fruition. Seven selections were composed by Falk with three by Jeff Furgo (keyboards) and one each from Chris Borin (t, flugelhorn) and Aaron Irwinsky (sax). There’s nice bass solo from Jeff Plant on the opener “Bump Bump”, as they set the pace for a light, Latin-infused fusion set. “Streets of Santa Teresa” is a fine example of the latter. Brass harmonies are rich and plentiful, and the rhythms are scintillating on tunes like “Cherokee Stroll” and “Effortless Spree”. We also enjoyed the ballads “Without Words” and “Time of Gratitude”.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media