Salles, Felipe

Tapestry, 2023CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 30.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 81
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Brazilian Jazz saxophonist, composer, conductor Felipe Salles leads his Interconnections Ensemble in a session focused on immigration and its impact on the international jazz community. The brass stands out on this symphony, especially on tunes like “Two Worlds Together” featuring vocalist Magos Herrera. Sofia Rey adds vocals to soften tunes like “Meridian 63”. Guitarist Chico Pinheiro leads the melody on “The Promise of Happiness”. We also enjoyed “World Citizen” featuring Yosvany Terry (a-sax). Home Is Here showcases the powerhouse orchestra with the dexterity of a vibrant jazz ensemble.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz