Willey, Rich

Wise Cat, 2019CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 25.4

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 78
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Richard Wiley’s (t) Boptism Funk Band includes Tom Evans (cl, fl, sax), David Mann (sax), John Shana (tb), Dan Fornero (t), Mike Boone (b), Bobby Floyd (p, organ), Wally Manko (Rhodes, synth), Dave Stryker (g), and Bruce Landham (d). As suggested, they infuse a large injection of funk into a bebop groove with a taste of blues as well. The blended brass accents are crisp and timely across all tempos including relaxed ballads like ‘Blessed Are The Hip‘. Other highlights are ‘Adrenaline Rush‘, ‘Secret Things‘, and our favorite, ‘Eenie, Meanie, Beanie, Weeny‘.


Publicist: Kari-On Productions