Saraga, Jonathan

Fresh Sound New Talent, 2017CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 23.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 56
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Trumpeter Jonathan Saraga has crisp, mellow tone that is embellished by his accompanying band, a well-coordinated cohort including Remy Le Boeuf (sax), Aki Ishiguro (g), Chris Pattishall (p), Rick Rosato (b) and Kenneth Salters (d). They waste no time getting down to business starting with “Uprising” surfacing the harmonious interplay between Saraga and Le Boeuf. We enjoyed the set especially “The Great Journey” and “Firm Roots”. This mellow fusion set will grow on you!


Publicist: Two for the Show Media