Su, Yuhan

Sunnyside, 2023CD
Instrument: Vibes

Issue: 29.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 74
Score Chart

O’s Notes: New York-based, Taiwanese vibraphonist, Yuhan Su composed the music and leads a quintet for Liberated Gesture, her latest release. Pianist Matt Mitchell is a dazzling complement to Su on several selections including the syncopated “Character “ and “Didion”. There are hints of Monk on “Siren Days” featuring saxophonist Caroline Davis, Su, and Mitchell. Bassist Marty Kennedy steps into the spotlight on “Naked Swimmer” and Davis adds poetic word on “She Goes To A Silent War”. This Su’s 3th release and she has a unique voice, one to watch!


Publicist: Fully Altered Media