Kellso, Jon-Erik

Arbors, 2023CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 29.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Dixieland
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 84
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Trumpeter Jon-Erik Kellso and his appropriately named band, the EarRegulars have been a mainstay at New York City’s historic Ear Inn for 16+ years. So, they are overdue for a recording, Live at The Ear Inn! This incarnation of Kellso’s band is an octet featuring Matt Munisteri (g), Evan Christopher (cl), John Allred (tb), Scott Robinson (sax), Jay Rattman (sax), Neal Miner (b), Pat O’Leary (b) and a few others. This unit swings hard on “Sleep”, & “I Double Dare You”, and simmers on “Indian Summer”. Catherine Russell adds sultry vocals on “Back O’ Town Blues” to close out the session. This is a retro, Dixie groove that sounds fresh in 2023!


Publicist: Arbors