Blake, Seamus

Jazz Eyes, 2009CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 15.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Seamus (sax) leads a quartet with David Kikoski (p), Rodney Green (d) and Danton Boller (b). The nine compositions are all lengthy including spirited solos for the live, appreciative Italian audience. They are spread out over two discs. The first includes three Blake originals starting with the explosive “Jupiter Line”. They also play some ballads like their arrangement of Debussy’s “String Quartet in G minor” that Kikoski helps evolve into a swinger! The 2nd disc starts out relaxing with a warm rendition of “The Feeling Of Jazz”. Kikoski wrote “Spacing”, a spirited piece followed by two ballads before they conclude cooking on “Dance Me Home”. This is good listening!


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services