Pantoja, Rique

Moondo Music, 2022CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 28.4

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 81
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Keyboardist, vocalist Rique Pantoja composed and produced Live In Los Angeles, a session that makes you feel like you are there! The 6-piece band includes guitarist Ricardo Silveira and Steve Tavaglione on sax and flute. The program is a cool blend of instrumental, contemporary jazz with Pantoja adding vocals on “Que Loucura”. We enjoyed the smooth, funky “1000 Watts”, a taste of calypso on “Da Baiana”, Latin-infused “Bebop Kid”, and Silveira’s liquid guitar on “Morena”.


Publicist: Mouthpiece Music