Cohan, Ryan

Matéma, 2007CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 13.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Ryan plays piano and leads a fine band made up with Bob Sheppard (sax, fl), James Cammack (b), Geof Bradfield (sax), Tito Carrillo (t), Lorin Cohen (b) and Kobie Watkins (d). Each member surrounds Cohan with good beats, tight rhythms and burning solos, notably Carrillo (t) on “Easy For You To Say” and “Awe”. We also liked the swing of “Six Fortunes”. The brand new five part suite, “One Sky: Tone Poems For Humanity” is done to perfection. It is a true work of art owing to Cohen’s compositional prowess. The groove is a neobop-fusion that pops. Ryan has lots to say and we’ll be listening to this one for a while!


Publicist: Red Cat Publicity