Koppel, Benjamin

Cowbell Unit, 2023CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 29.4

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 73
Score Chart

O’s Notes: This is a trio of friends, Benjamin Koppel (a-sax), Scott Cooley (b), and Brian Blade (d), coming together with their Perspective. It is a collection of nine original compositions, five by Koppel, three by Colley and one collaboration. “Alphabet Thief”, “Speed Cubing Rubiks”, and “Don’t Rise” are highlights in a varied set of mostly modern jazz.


Publicist: Hubtone