Bisceglia, Michel

Prova Records, 2014CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 21.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Composer and pianist Michel Bisceglia contemplates the merging relationships between humans and technology and similar correlations between humans and music. The latter is expressed on Singularity, Bisciglia’s latest release of twelve original compositions and four covers on two discs. Each is performed in a trio format with bassist Warner Lauscher and Marc Léhan on drums. The sound is cerebral and the pace on “Puccini” is sufficiently slow to allow full absorption of the content. Things pick up on “Meaning of the Blues”, a dynamic piece accentuated by excellent reproduction of the drums, especially the cymbals. Each of the trio shines during the course of this fine set.


Publicist: Music Video Distributors