O’Gallagher, John

Whirlwind Recordings, 2013CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 19.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist John O’Gallagher pays homage to Anton Webern a classical Austrian composer known for his twelve-tone techniques and contributions to total serialism. He gets help from a strong team including Mat Moran (vibes), Tyshawn Sorey (d) and Pete McCann (g). O’Gallagher takes on the task of transforming Webern’s pieces to jazz. It comes across as modern jazz/jazz-fusion with the overall spirit of free jazz. Margaret Grebowicz adds vocals, notably on “Seventh Ring”. Overall we found The Project to be on point, and enticing enough to catch your ear.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media