Sun, Kevin

Endectomorph, 2023CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 30.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Avant Garde
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 75
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Chinese saxophonist, composer, and producer Kevin Sun leads a 4 to 5-piece band with Dana Saul (p), Simon Willson (b) and Matt Honor (d) for the 1st Movement. Dayeon Soek plays drums on the 2nd Movement where Adam O’Farrill (t) joins the band. Walter Stinson (b) replaces Willson for the 3rd Movement. If you can follow those personnel changes, you’re ready to unlock the beauty of The Depths of Memory, a program of abstract jazz, with dark, melancholic tones. Sun tries to coax listeners into the moment, inviting them into the trance created by the musicians. It is a 2-Disc set that is divided into three movements. From All This Stillness has 7 parts leading to three stages of Eponymous Cycle and concluding with 9 songs in The Depths in Slow Motion. We found the third movement to be more melodic and enjoyable though still dark.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz