Nelson, Josh

Origin, 2017CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 23.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Composer and pianist Josh Nelson assembles a large ensemble that includes Larry Golding’s on the B3. We particularly liked the core of the set with the crisp, syncopated notes on “The Architect”, “Ah, Los Angeles” featuring vocalist Lillian Sengpiehl, and the symphonic grandeur of “Lost Souls of Saturn”. “Run” and “The Sky Remains” featuring vocalist Kathleen Grace are a bit more pop/country than we prefer. Nevertheless this is a good outing.


Publicist: Mouthpiece Music