Strickland, E. J.

Strick Muzik, 2015CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 21.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Drummer E.J. Strickland assembles a popping quintet with bassist Linda Oh, Luis Perdomo on piano, alto saxophonist Jaleel Shaw and Marcus Strickland playing tenor &soprano sax. E.J. wastes no time getting down to business opening “Ride” with a spirited drum solo. He establishes a head bobbing groove that is weaved into all aspects of The Underlying Spirit. Strickland (E.J.) composed all of the music except for Cedar Walton’s “Hindsight”. There is a good mix of tempos. They slow down on the excellent “Ballad For All Mankind” in contrast with the spirited “Bomba For Leel And Max”. It is done well.


Publicist: Red Cat Publicity