Torres, Samuel

Blue Conga, 2019CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 25.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 82
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Columbian conguero, percussionist and composer Samuel Torres assembles a large ensemble for“Alegria including Michael Rodriguez (t), Marshall Gilkes (tb), Ricky Rodriguez (b), Luis Perdomo (p), Will Vinson (sax) and Joel Frahm (sax). They play eight Torres originals that are infused with Latin fire and electric solos from a talented crew. We liked ‘Little Grasshopper‘; the horn interplay on ‘Algeria‘; Gilkes solo on ‘Salsa, Jazz, Y Choke‘; and ‘Barretto Power‘.


Publicist: Red Cat Publicity