American Music Project

Inarhyme, 2009CD
Instrument: Male Vocals

Issue: 16.1

Jazz Ruler Type: AcidJazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The American Music Project is Dejuan Everett (rap, poetry), Curtis Jones (vocals), Dane Bays (sax), Keith Jones (p), Dave Ziegner (b) and Alex Brooks (d). They present a clean perspective of the evolution of African American music from blues, gospel, jazz and R&B to rap and hip-hop. While the path has incorporated a lot of the pains of the African American journey, A.M.P. chooses to focus On The Bright Side. We liked the jazz vibe of “Call It What You Want” and “Lonnie’s Lament”, the latter laced with fierce poetic rap! The combination of cool clean rap, meaningful poetry, cool rhythms and positive thinking make this a delightful session.

The American Music Project - On the Bright SideBUY NOW

Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz