Jormin, Anders & Lena Willemark

ECM, 2023CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 29.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Ballads, Blues
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 83
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bassist Anders Jormin and vocalist, violinist Lena Willemark compose the music for Pasado en claro, set to poems by Ouyang Xiu, Jörgen Lind, Tomas Tranströmer, Petrarca, Octavio Paz, Yamabe no Akihito, Anna Greta Wide, and three by Willemark. Lena’s voice is soft and gentle, complemented by the gentle strokes of Karin Nakagawa’s 25-string koto and anchored by the percussive beats of Jon Fäit. Bowed strings impart lots of emotion in this well-recorded session. The feeling is exotic on “Ramona Elena”, and mysterious on “The Woman Of The Long Ice”. Other highlights are “Petraca” and “Kingdom of Coldness”.


Publicist: D. L. Media