Higgs, Paul

Toucan Tango Music, 2013CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 20.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Paul Higgs plays trumpet and piano. He performs in a quintet with a strong team. Pavane is a collection of eleven compositions arranged and composed by Higgs. The music has a chamber feel when cellist Helen Yousaf uses a bow. Otherwise the program is fresh contemporary jazz in varied tempos. We enjoyed the peaceful passion of “A Simple Truth” and “Parisienne Affair”; the drama of “Shadows and Desire”; and the vibrant feel of “Clocks”.


Publicist: Creative Service Company