Hwang, Jason Kao

Euonymus Records, 2017CD
Instrument: Violin

Issue: 23.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Avant Garde
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 60
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Composer Jason Kao Hwang’s latest project is a rather eclectic experience based on free jazz. Sing House has a wealth of structure and phasing that is repeatable and appreciable along with the spontaneity. There are only four selections and they are all well developed, in excess of 11 minutes each. Andrew Drury (d), Ken Filiano (b), Chris Forbes (p) and Steve Swell (tb) are the accompaniment in the quintet that shares in an enjoyable, creative work.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services