Butcher Brown

Concord Jazz, 2023CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 29.4

Jazz Ruler Type: AcidJazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 72
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Butcher Brown is a polished quintet out of Richmond, Virginia founded in 2009. They are Marcus Tenney (t, sax), Morgan Burrs (g), Corey Fonville (perc), Andrew Randazzo (b), and producer DJ Harrison. They take an old-school, R&B backdrop, add crisp, jazzy horns, solid rhythms, and catchy verse, with spoken word on top of it. It’s an infectious groove that resonates with the urban jazz crowd. They take it down a notch on “Eye Never Knew” featuring Tenney on trumpet then he switches to sax on “Happy Hourrr”. We also liked “It Was Me”, “This Side of Sunshine”, and the cool, mysterious “Espionage”. The bulk of Solar Music has a chill vibe with urban messages, 28 selections spread over 2 discs.


Publicist: Concord