Sanchez, Marta

Whirlwind, 2022CD
Instrument: Female Vocals

Issue: 27.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 74
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Spanish pianist Marta Sanchez has made New York her home for the last six years or so and has immersed herself on the Latin jazz scene leading a quintet with Alex LoRe (a-sax), Roman Filiu (t-sax), Rashaan Carter (b) and Allan Menards (d). Spanish American Art Museum (SAAM) is all-original with warm ballads like “The Eternal Stillness” and “Marivi”, a tribute to Sanchez’s late mother featuring Ambrose Akinmusire (t) and Camila Meza (vocals, g). Sax reigns king for “When Dreaming is the Only”, a fitting closer to a fine session.


Publicist: Fully Altered Media