Kelso, Mark

Groovy Drums, 2019CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 26.1

Jazz Ruler Type: funk
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 77
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Canadian drummer Mark Kelso is also a composer, educator and bandleader. The Chronicles of Fezzwig is his latest release in a quintet with Mike Downes (b), Ted Quinlan (g), and special guest Pat LaBarbera (sax). Brian Dickinson and Gordon Sheard split piano duties. All of the music is original with the energizing drummer, Kelso adding vocals on ”Shine”. Other highlights are “Sound Barrier”, A Refraction of Light” and “Ghost”.


Publicist: RDX