Copland, Marc

Illusions Mirage, 2019CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 26.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 81
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Marc Copland follows up a successful solo outing, Gary (80) with his polished trio featuring bassist Drew Gress and Joey Baron on drums. There are cool arrangements of “Cantaloupe Island”, “And I Love Her” and “Love Letter”. The trio collaborated on “Mitzi & Johny”. We also enjoyed two Copland originals; the mid-tempo “Day And Night” and a relaxed take on “Might Have Been”. These seasoned musicians make a lot of good sounds together!


Publicist: Two for the Show Media