O’Neill, Michael

Jazzmo, 2020CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 26.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 82
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bay-area saxophonist and composer Michael O’Neill has been a prime fixture around San Francisco for well over a decade. He has also performed with many jazz stars and released a few notable recordings featuring vocalists Kenny Washington and Tony Lindsay. His latest release And Then It Rained is an all-instrumental quartet with bassist Dan Freiszli, pianist Michael Bluestein and Jacob Lewis on drums. The program is all O’Neill originals. There are threads of Latin and swinging jazz throughout the set. “Emerging Impressions” and “Cloudsscape” are beautiful expressions showcasing O’ Neill’s prowess on ballads.


Publicist: Mouthpiece Music