Fahie, Mike

bju, 2010CD
Instrument: Trombone

Issue: 16.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Trombonist Mike Fahie leads a quintet with polished veterans Ben Monder (g), Ben Street (b), Bill McHenry (sax) and Billy Hart (d). They play six of Fahie’s originals along with three covers. The music is a combination of fusion and modern jazz. Hart’s presence is felt throughout the session as the drums are pulled forward into the mix. They slowed down mid way on “Cecilia”, a ballad with Mike taking the melody. Monder shares the lead with McHenry on “June With John” another ballad. Among the best were the straight-ahead blues of “Village Green”, Monk’s “Work” and the mellow “Seven Sisters”.

Mike Fahie - AnimaBUY NOW

Publicist: Red Cat Publicity