Sipiagin, Alex

Blue Room Music, 2022CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 28.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 81
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Russian trumpeter, composer Alex Sipiagin is back with his venerable rhythm section: Art Hirahara (p), Boris Kozlov (b) and Rudy Royston (d) with tenor saxophonist Diego Rivera. They are a tight band playing a lot of mixed tempos in a Jazz-fusion session that is mostly original music. Highlights are “Dolphin’s View”, “One More Shot” and the funky “Doppio”. Royston serves up a scintillating solo on “Sandrigo Blues” and Rivera shines on “Rush Hour”. Ultimately Ascent To The Blues is a winner!


Publicist: Positone