Spin Cycle

Sound Footings, 2018CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 24.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Spin Cycle is a quartet with Tom Christensen (sax), Scott Neumann (d), Pete McCann (g) ad Phil Palombi (b). All of the tunes are originals written by Christensen or Neumann. They catch our attention on the opener “Break Tune” and never let go! They drift into a little bit of fusion on ”Etosha” and serve up a taste of Latin on “To the Puente”. The energy flows on “Affirmation” while they relax on “Third Floor” and “Mist” balancing their act. We also enjoyed the mysterious feel of “It’s Alright With Me”. Actually there’s not much that we didn’t like in“Assorted Colors.


Publicist: Terri Hinte