Mendoza, Vince

Act, 2008CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 15.1

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Blauklang is the third and final chapter in a collaborative series between Mendoza, WDR 3 and Act Records. It began in 1992 with Jazzpaña and continued with Sketches. Both were highly regarded recordings as would be expected from the world-class composer/arranger Vince Mendoza. This release focuses on blue music from both a jazz and pop/classical viewpoint. They open with “All Blues” and move through a six-part “Bluesounds Movement” that is a rich experience. The band is in top form including Peter Erskine (d), Nguyn L (g) and Lars Danielsson (b), all formidable solo artists. It is an entertaining set.


Publicist: D. L. Media