Elias, Eliane

Blue Note, 2008CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 15.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: You know you are listening to a great singer when you are thrilled listening to overworked standards. That is the case here as Eliane teams up with Oscar Castro-Neves (g), Marc Johnson (b), Paulo Braga (d), Ricardo Vogt (g) and an orchestra conducted by Rob Mathes. You have heard these tunes but they are ever enjoyable under the spell of Elias. Warm strings grace “Estate” along with an intro from Toots Thielmans (harmonica) who also plays on “Superwoman”. Other highlights are “I’m Not Alone” with guest vocalist Ivan Lins, “They Can’t Take That Away From Me” and the Jobim classic “Desafinado”.


Publicist: D. L. Media