Bankov, Nikola

AMP Music, 2019CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 25.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 75
Score Chart

O’s Notes: 20-year-old alto saxophonist Nikola Bankov makes his debut with a quintet including Jonas Gravlund (g), August Korsgaard (synths), Jens Mikkel Madsen (b) and John Riddell (d). Special guest Seamus Blake (t-sax) is featured on 5 of the 7 selections, all Bankov originals.“Bright Future“has a rock fusion groove on ‘Mind Bubble‘ moving to funky beats on ‘Vibin’ In Denmark‘ and a relaxing mood on ‘For All We Love‘ all including a heavy dose of electronic. There are some great photos in the liner notes as Bankov launches with an engaging session.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media