Weinhold, Bastian

Frame Music, 2015CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 22.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Bastian Weinhold plays drums and leads a vibrant quartet for Cityscape, a collection of ten originals composed by Weinhold and guitarist Nils Weinhold. Adam Larson plays tenor sax with bassist Raviv Markovitz rounding out the band. They take a breath on “Alone” with Larson leading the charge before resuming the charge on “Mole Hunt” with Nils and Adam sharing the lead lines. We also enjoyed the syncopated rhythms of “Everyday List” and “One for the Doctor” featuring Markovitz. The sound is fresh and the band is tight placing this one squarely in the mix.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media