Griffith, Johnny

GB Records, 2015CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 21.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist Johnny Griffin is back with a set of nine original compositions and a solid quintet. They open swinging hard on “The Zissou Predicament” and close in the same fashion on “That Night”, two of nine original compositions written by Griffith. Co-producer Jeremy Pelt (t) and Adrean Farrugia (p) step up with strong solos on “Princess Aura Goes To Phrygia”. We also enjoyed Johnny’s mellow tones on “Cinders”. It’s a winner!


Publicist: Orange Grove Artiste