The Griots Speak

OA2, 2023CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 29.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 76
Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Griots are a blend of straight-ahead and free jazz players coming together as one unit. They are Daniel Carter (sax, fl, cl, t, p), Charlie Apicella (d, bowls, g), William Parker (b, pocket t), and Juma Sultan (perc), with Iron City: Brad Whiteley (organ) and Austin Walker (d). There’s an East Indian bent to the music, with coordinated improvisation from all angles. Parker lays down a cool, bass groove that is an excellent foundation for soloing on “We’re All Here In Spirit” and “It’s Alright To Run”. They take a casual stroll for “I Heard In Passing” before igniting the fire with the finale, “Sparks”.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services