Davis, Caroline

Ears & Eyes Records, 2015CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 22.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Doors: Chicago Storylines is a history of jazz in Chicago combining spoken interviews with original music composed by saxophonist Caroline Davis. She forms a quartet with guitarist Mike Allemana, Matt Ferguson on bass and drummer Jeremy Cunningham. Russ Johnson (t) appears on seven selection and the numerous voices include George Fludas, Bobby Broom, Steve Million and Von Freeman. They describe the “Chicago Sound?”, the differentiation of the North and South side signatures and the blues based groove. Davis’s music is very good alone but the accompanying history lesson makes this session a cherished treasure for jazz fans.


Publicist: Terri Hinte