Liebman, Dave

Whaling City Sound, 2020CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 26.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Fusion
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 73
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist and composer Dave Liebman has been making music for decades. He embarked on a concept to musically depict four major elements in the late 1990s. Water (1997) was first, followed by Air (2006), then Fire (2016), and today’s finale, Earth with his Expansions Group. The quintet is a force with Bobby Avey (keyboards), Matt Vashlishan (wind synthesizer), Tony Martino (b), Alex Ritz (d) and Liebman. Extensive liner notes are a fine accompaniment to enhance listening in a very imaginative set.


Publicist: Mixed Media Promo